Hyundai Tiburon Forums banner

a/c not working, were to start?

891 views 10 replies 4 participants last post by  Delmarosalinda 
#1 ·
Hello everyone,
I am a college international student and i just got a 2003 Tiburon GT that my friend sold me. He has gone back to his(our) home country, Nepal for good.
I put all my savings and even my tuition on it and got it for $3000. It has 110,000 miles on it and is well maintained. This is my first car and i know very little about cars to be honest.

Here is my problem:
I hit the ac button and turn the temperature dial to cold. The ac button lights up, the rpm goes up a little but there is no cold air at all. What could be wrong with it? Do i have to add any type of refrigerant?
I don't have money to pay for the mechanic so its either do it myself or live without it in this Iowa heat. I drive 45 min to college.
I looked around the newbie section of the forum for ac related problems but did not understand most of it as i don't have much idea of the parts involved.
I do want to learn about my car as much as possible so i thought i would give it a try. Seems like a/c related problems are one of the toughest to solve and needs more knowledge.
Please let me know what i should do? Should i leave it and not try it or start somewhere and learn something?

Thanks to everyone who views/replies to my post.

See less See more
#2 ·
Sounds like you electrical systems are functioning, including the clutch on your AC compressor. IMO this points to no refrigerant (freon gas) in your system. Now I know you don't want to get a mechanic involved but without their test equipment to inject a dye into the system you are going to be hard pressed to identify what parts need fixed or replaced.