Hyundai Tiburon Forums banner

Short Ram Intake Install For 08 Tiburon 2.0

3K views 15 replies 6 participants last post by  lemonsauce 
#1 ·
Hello all

I just purchase a DC Sports Short Ram Intake for my 08 Tiburon GS. I have no experience at all nore do I know what I'm doing. The install looks simple enough for me, but I don't know anything about the "tune". Can I put it on without a tune? If not, how do I do it?

And also, does tuning your car to burn higher octane fuel do anything? Or help with this Short Ram Intake I am installing?

I appreciate any and all replies, thanks guys!

#3 ·
A short ram is very simple, just a matter of finding all of the fasteners in the stock intake and then installing your intake making sure you orient the Mass Airflow Sensor (MAF) in the correct direction (there should be an arrow pointing in the direction of the airflow). You might want to unplug your battery after installation for ~10mins which will allow for the ECU to relearn after your mod, no tune needed.

Reactions: 08TiburonSE
#5 ·
Stock intake --> best balance of performance and sound reduction through the use of plastic pipe as opposed to metal. It draws air from the **lower** compartment of the engine bay through a small-ish opening, which hyundai engineers apparently found adequate. Safest option in terms of preventing water from entering from the intake. This will draw cooler air in comparison to a Short Ram intake (depending if you have the super short one or the one that extends to the stock air filter location, the one that draws air from the stock airbox location will obviously draw the same temp. air).