Hyundai Tiburon Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright.. So i was getting my I/H/E installed and the installer told me that I had a 2002 not a 2003. Now when I was looking into getting the car I knew there was no 2002 version. But I figured that this guy knew what he was talking about since he works with cars everyday and I have very little knowledge on the subject. So then I tell the guy that the dealership sold me a 2003 and its insured as a 03. Then I go home and still a little confused I look up how to read vin numbers and it says I have a 03. All in all I was just wondering if this has happened to anyone else? I mean, this shop comes highly recommended, so im not to sure where else to take it, they gave me the better deal on my I/H/E.

·
Registered
1,533 Posts
they did make some in 2002 so yes it is technicaly an 02 but its the 03 model... if that makes sense. Doesnt affect anything parts wise between diffrent years other than it seems alot of the 02 cars had window and clutch issues

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
When they were installing my headers they said they to customize them to fit. I have DC headers.

·
Former Staff
3,336 Posts
Sometimes manufacturers skip a year, but just on paper, simply to make the model stand out even more (I mean, who wouldn't want to buy a 2008 or 2009 model right now?). So even though your car might have been built in 2002 (check the manufacture date on the inside of the door) it's still registered by Hyundai as a 2003.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks. The guy just had me a bit worried.

·
Registered
1,533 Posts
what did the have to custom fit with the headers? just curious, i know my DC's came off an 04 and i am 05 with no issues

·
Registered
310 Posts