Hyundai Tiburon Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,685 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I'm no expert. I know what RMS, 2-4 channels, etc mean when it comes to amps.
However on my old sony amp I have features I'm not sure of what they do or how to use them properly. The amp of course has bass boost, which is a pretty obvious knob, turn it up for more bass. The others I'm questioning are the High pass and Low pass settings, as well as there are 4 knobs that have Hz on them. If I remember correctly the Hz is like from 0-120Hz measurements. I have my components hooked up to this 4channel amp, fronts w/seperate tweeters and 6x9's in back. (Stock Sub still hooked up w/stock amp)
My speakers specs are
Front 6"+1" tweeter, 91 sensitivity, 54-20 frequency response, 60-120watts
Rear 6x9 1" tweeter, 91.5 sensitivity, 47-20 frequency response, 75-150watts

My question is about the HZ and Pass.
What do they do ?
And what would settings sound good ?

·
Registered
437 Posts
the high pass and low pass are filters. The cut off the frequency so the speaker can play better. You use a low pass filter for subs (around 80-120) and a high pass filter for your highs (60-120). The HZ knobs are for the equalizer. You can adjust certian frequencies to smooth out the sound with these nobs.

·
Registered
1,837 Posts
^ :3_withstu So, set yours to High and mess with the knobs at full volume until you get the best sound!

·
Registered
1,685 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
so I set both front and rears to High pass ?
Then play with the Frequency Hz knobs to make it sound the way I want right ?
Ok,,,,,so what will my ears hear with the different Hz measurements/what should I be listening for ?

·
Registered
437 Posts
ViolentB said:
so I set both front and rears to High pass ?
Then play with the Frequency Hz knobs to make it sound the way I want right ?
Ok,,,,,so what will my ears hear with the different Hz measurements/what should I be listening for ?