Hyundai Tiburon Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I loaned my Tiburon to a friend, she got a few miles down the road and the car quit. It starts but runs so horribly it sounds like it's going to blow up. No lights are on and it shows no codes like everything is fine. First thought is the position sensors, then maybe that it jumped time. But since it has no codes I'm thinking ECU. I know alot about cars but I'm not a mechanic by no means, so I need some help here please.

·
Registered
2006 Hyundai Tiburon SE
296 Posts
It starts but runs so horribly it sounds like it's going to blow up. First thought is the position sensors, maybe that it jumped time. But since it has no codes I'm thinking ECU.
Not much info to go by.

What year and engine type is your Tib? How many miles in total? Are you using OEM oil filters or parts store garbage like FRAM or Microguard? When was the last time the timing belt was replaced? What brand was the timing kit and did it include the timing tensioner and timing pulleys/bearings too? Peel back the timing covers and check all your timing marks. If everything is in time, run the engine and take a video of the noise it makes. If it's terminal, the damage was already done so it won't hurt it any more to run it for a few minutes for a video.