Hyundai Tiburon Forums banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Complete Newbie Exhaust Thread

Whats up everyone. I am not new to the site, have read a good bit or the post over the past two years, but just recently signed up. For the past two weeks all I have done in my spare time is research exhaust options and man does it get complicated. I have a few questions and figured a few other will too, and figured I would start thread for Tiburon newbies craving exhaust. I know most of this information is already posted, but it's all over the place.

1) Is it worth paying $300 more for DC headers or $600 more for Ark when SSA has headers, high flow cat and all O2 sensor holes for under $300 bucks? Who makes true 2x3into1 "equal length" headers?

2) What can you get away with as far as gutting or removing the cat and still passing emissions? O2 emulators? Do headers and or exhaust usually throw codes? Would the inspector be able to pass it with a visit from President Benjamin?

3)What tools are needed to install? Any heat treatment? Just nuts and bolts? Engine drop? What components need to be removed? AC? PS? Can it be a back yard job?

4)Can you run full exhaust but with stock tips? I would truely love to run full Ark with stock tips. Really make people scratch their heads. Plus you can't beat the look of how the stock tips mold to the diffuser.

5) What can one expect as far as sound and performance running headers and high flow cat with no muffler... just welding pipe straight to the tips? I would imagine the ****** y pipe right before the mufflers would rob you of some hp gains. Maybe custom replace that section and leave the rest of the cat-back stock?

Just some thoughts and questions. Power to the Tiburon community. So underestimated, so bad awsome...

Don't start yelling at me for starting a duplicate thread, if I am a moron and have overlooked a complete newbie exhaust thread I will delete it.

Attachments

·