Hyundai Tiburon Forums banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
I
1,319 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is there any way that the Genesis's Turbo I4 could be turned 90 degrees and put in a Tiburon?

·
Registered
3,468 Posts
yeah... im no super mechanic but the engine probably wouldnt line up, you would need a tranny swap, change out the ecu, and the list goes on... the rwd conversion is not even mentioned on my list...

·
I
1,319 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
If you turn the engine 90 degrees, you don't have to swap to RWD though, if I'm not mistaken

·
Registered
3,468 Posts
^^^ idk about that... maybe another member with more knowledge/experience can answer that question for u

·
Registered
4,789 Posts
Ok the Genesis has a 2.0 turned transaxle instead of transverse.... they just turboed it stock... your 2.0 is pretty much same motor...

·
Registered
3,030 Posts
because you would need to have a custom built transmission that could be monitored by the genesis ecu, unless you get lucky and it matches up to an existing tib tranny.

Just turbo the I4, less money, same ability, there is truly no reason to drop in, essentially, the same motor just for a turbo when you can turbo the existing engine, build the block, new pistons, and new transmission for the same cost and put out more power. But then you run into the same problem that, being a fwd car, you reach a point where more power is just bragging rights and becomes useless since you can't keep traction with that power.

·
I
1,319 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
... your 2.0 is pretty much same motor...
Really? That's pretty interesting... There's a pretty big HP increase for a stock turbo if it's close to the same engine. I have a V6. I was just wondering.

·
Registered
4,789 Posts
ya man.... i mean its same bore... same displacement... just turboed and had alot better tuning the tib stock....

·
Registered
1,684 Posts