Hyundai Tiburon Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Heya,

I pretty recently found myself in the possession of a 2003 Tiburon GT (v6 automatic). I've been putting work into it where I can, hoping to have more time to spend with the weather getting nicer.

The car was sitting around untouched outside for most of the past decade before I got it a few months ago so it took some work to get driveable -- any ideas of all the maintenance I should be going for with it would be appreciated. I'm pretty new to cars and kinda short on cash, but thankfully I'm not new to wrenching stuff and am pretty close with a mechanic so I think I'll be okay.

Thankfully it ran okay without too much work when I got it. I had to replace the battery and do some cleaning of the connections there, fix one of the brake lines, take out and clean up the IAC because it wasn't working, the purge solenoid was replaced but that one wasn't by me. Most of the other stuff I had to work on wasn't engine related so it's nothing I'm worried about.

First on the docket , now that I know it runs okay and have some stuff straightened out, I want to switch out the timing belt/water pump/tensioner. I've heard some pretty gnarly stuff about what happens if it isn't switched out regularly, and this car is running on 18 years and 85k miles and I have no idea if it was ever done. I've heard the Gates stuff is good, so the plan is to buy one of their kits in the coming days and install it whenever it gets here.

Mostly just thought I'd say hi and thank you guys for all the great resources you've got going on here, working on this thing has been a little daunting but absolutely everything's been documented with a ton of great information and explained ad nauseum, which is super awesome.

·
Registered
2006 Hyundai Tiburon SE
425 Posts
Welcome to the forum!