Hyundai Tiburon Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,084 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since my car doesn't come with a sub, and I really want one. I'm going to go ahead and get one. I was going to use the stock sub (which there isn't one on an 06 SE) to hold me over till I get enough money to buy an extreme system upgrade, but now I am forced to get something else to hold me over. Thus, I am going to buy a sub and possibly an amp.

I can't really decide on what to do though. Since I'm going to be getting a better system later and I don't want to spend much money. I was thinking on getting a 12" RF Kicker (which will be used for my final system) and an RF amp. The amp I think would prob be 1200 watt mono since I want to use this for my final system too.

Any tips or ideas of what I should do? Would it be a good idea to go about what my plan is. Or should I do something else. Also how should I wire this stuff. I'm new to this and I don't really want someone else to do it, but I wouldn't mind that much anyway since this might be out of my league to do. Please tell me your thoughts!

·
Registered
2,122 Posts
Well, if you actually want to play your sub, you need to buy an amp. If you're just gonna be upgrading later, why waste money on something now that you're just going to replace? My tips are to not buy RF. Also, replace the head unit before getting the subs.

·
Sam:Moderator of the Dead
2,220 Posts
I disagree with Cheeser, I say def get a Rockford Fosgate amplifier. They make good subs too, however I like Alpine also. Keep in mind RF amps pushing that much RMS power, are going to be expensive, so shop around.

Don't get an amp that will overpower the sub, that would also be a waste, cause you won't have a sub...Just save up, and get what you want with the right matching specs the first time, and not deal with half-assing it. You won't be sorry, I promise.

·
Registered
1,084 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·