Hyundai Tiburon Forums banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
4,064 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well a few months ago I decided to learn how to build a fiberglass speaker box. I've never worked with fiberglass before. Let alone build a speaker box since High School geometry.....

I was going to build a box into the corner, but ditched that idea. I just didn't like how it was going to turn out for what I had in my mind.. There are pictures of that process too. I still have the mold, might put it up for sale and finish for who ever wants it...

So I started with a sheet of 3/4" MDF. I cut it down to fit between the two towers. Then with the help of Jesse (snakepool) we cut the rings and raisers for the rings. Kathlene (my wife) actually cut out the speaker rings for me. Her 1st time with a power tool.

Installed the speaker mounts, then wrapped it all with fleece and finally started to lay down the fiberglass. Once that was build up to about 7 layers I started to grind it down and then put on the bondo to get it smooth.

Its painted black with a metallic mid coat and then about 4 coats of clear. Matt (another member here) helped with the final sanding & painting.

I then started in on what to do with the amps. With some help from UnHolyTib (he's the one that does the front delete plates and other laser etch stuff - www.midnight-wolf.com) we came up with the design that you see now. The lighting I just added some green Varad lights to the white ones I had back there already.

Thank you to Fusion Car Audio for the Great produt. I've only had a 10" in the stock box for a while and with two 12" s it sounds great.

2- Power Plant 12" subs
1- 2ch 1500w amp (Power Plant)
1- 4ch 800 w amp (Power Plant)
6x0's for the rear
6.5 components for the front

but onto the pictures....

·
Registered
4,923 Posts