Hyundai Tiburon Forums banner

1 - 20 of 97 Posts

·
Registered
624 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, being that I'm a service writer at a Nissan dealership; I get to be around all kinds of brand new Maximas and 350 Zs. Now I've always liked the shift knob that the 350 Z comes factory with, so I've been searching for quite awhile to find something that looked similar with a lift reverse. Enter the 2006 Maxima 6-speed. Yep, my new favorite shift knob is just an ordinary factory one off of a 2006 Maxima. :3_loveit: Well, being that our factory shift knobs leave a lot to be desired, this factory one definitely caught my eye. At first I wasn't even sure if the threads would match up, so I took on off of one of the cars in the lot and did a test fit on my Tib. Needless to say, it threaded on PERFECTLY...but there was one little catch. There is a little plastic piece that is on the bottom of the knob that acts like a beauty ring, or something along that line, that wasn't allowing the lifting mechanism to go up into the knob. So, knowing that I couldn't start screwing with the shift knob that I'd borrowed from another car, I decided to take a chance at making it fit and order one. Well, after getting my very own shift knob, I was able to start brainstorming on how to trim or get rid of that stupid beauty ring. Well, luck have it, it was a whole lot easier than I expected it to be. All I ended up doing was popping that plastic piece out of the shift knob with a regular sized flat tip screw driver. :3_bier: After that, the knob fit just like it was the original OEM one from the factory (including the spring). So in the end, I've found a pretty nice factory replacement shift knob for the Tiburon community that everyone can easily obtain from any Nissan dealership (or probably even on line).

Here is the part number: 32865-ZA302

And here are a bunch of pictures of the knob (on and off of the car) and how to pry out that little beauty ring thing.

·
Banned
1,154 Posts