Hyundai Tiburon Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i bought a project tiburon that has a ripp supercharger with a new vortech si head unit on it but the guy blew the rings out of it without a tune. I have a spare motor sitting in my garage im gonna use for it but i want to change some things. I would like to switch to e85 and run 12psi. im gonna keep stock internals but upgrade the piston rings and gap to support 15psi. I need help with correct size of injectors size of fuel pump and possible cams. Im new with tiburons so be nice please thanks.

·
Registered
91 Posts
What year tiburon (early models had a return style fuel system)?
The standard Ripp kit on our cars uses a V5 G trim, which Si system did they swap it to?
Deatschwerks and Aeromotive make e85 compatible pumps, but I haven't heard of issues with Walbro pumps on e85. As for size, anything over 200 lph would be fine (aeromotive 340, dw65c, Walbro 255)
For injectors, on 15 psi you will most likely be in the 300 hp range, and on e85 you will need larger injectors as well. So 450cc minimum. I believe GTR injectors are 570cc, e85 compatible, and are a direct fit for a tiburon. They can also be sourced for a reasonable price.
Those are my suggestions until someone else more knowledgeable chimes in

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have a 2003 tiburon gt return fuel lines automatic. It has a v2 si head unit. i believe it has a walbro 190 pump. Apexi safc2 tuner. will running e85 be enough for cooling the intake charge or do i need to run methanol injector. Wicb i have just not hooked up

·
Registered
91 Posts
I'm not too sure you would be able to properly tune e85 on a SAFC2, since you have no control of timing or injectors. Most of the people who had trouble with these kits skimped out on the tuning, it's the most important part of this either going well or terribly wrong, so keep that in mind.