Hyundai Tiburon Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 140 Posts

·
G-Power
1,257 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited by Moderator)
For those who don't know me, let me first introduce myself. My name is SGT Pete Pelfrey, and I'm from Atlanta (area), GA. I'm a 24 year old soldier who is having fun in the desert for the next year. I have a beautiful wife, Christina, who is back home waiting on me, and I love very much. My screen name, Ready2Play, comes from a thought that I had one day when I said to myself that my goal was to make my car ready to play with any other car that was game. Enough about me now, time for the car :)

Oct, 2003- While I was in my military training school in Sierra Vista, AZ, I was walking down the street with my wife and had an epiphany…I needed a new car. Not some beat down clunker like my previous thirteen (yes, I had that many beater-cars), but a decent, reliable, nice and shiny new car. So I drove my first Tib. I loved it instantly, but still didn't know how I would be able to buy a brand new car.

The day after I test-drove the automatic Tib, I was walking down the same street past the dealership. The guy I had talked to the day prior screamed from across the parking lot asking if I was ready to be put into my new car yet. I told him "yeah, but I have no cash, no credit, and I'm only a Private in the Army." He said it didn't matter, that he guaranteed that I would drive off the lot in a new Tiburon. I humored him. Sure enough, two hours later I was pulling off the lot in my shiny new 2003 6-speed V6.

Following this, I had my first challenge, driving all the way back to Atlanta from school. After I made that grueling journey, I had to get ready to leave for Germany, and didn't have time to ship the car. I had to leave that up to my dad. A month later, I get a call at 2 o'clock in the morning with my dad in tears. He wrecked my brand new car two days before it was due to ship.