Hyundai Tiburon Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there!

This is my first time posting on this site, but I've been reading from it for a while. I've owned 2 tiburons, but the one I have currently is a white '07 GT. I've had it for almost 2 years, and have been chasing down issues since I got it. Basically, I'm having random misfire issues, and I don't know what's causing it.

So far I have done:
Plugs
Wires
Coils
Injectors
PCV Valve
Camshaft sensor
O2 Sensors
Throttle Body
ECU Replacement

Nothing has worked. I've taken it to 2 shops and basically just threw a bunch of money out the window. The first shop told me to do the PCV Valve. I had them do it, no luck. The second shop hooked up a smoke machine and told me to do the throttle body. Did that myself, no luck. Finally, I bought a used ECU thinking it was something with the computer.... again, no luck. In addition to misfires, there is also a slight tick coming from the front passenger wheel well, but I can't figure out where it's coming from. It won't pass inspection, and I'm a college student that can't afford to just throw money at it. At this point I'm desperate- any thoughts, ideas, tests, help, etc. would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much!

·
Registered
2006 Hyundai Tiburon SE
622 Posts
Did you buy genuine Hyundai OEM sensors? Or bottom of the barrel junk that the mechanics marked up 100%? This is especially important for O2 sensors, MAF sensors and crank/cam sensors. If your MAF sensor doesn't have a genuine Hyundai sticker I would recommend starting from there. If you paid less than $150 for a MAF sensor it's 100% not genuine and it's not going to work well.

I've seen random misfires from a poorly performing crankshaft position sensor and often times heat is the culprit. Try a genuine Hyundai crankshaft sensor by NTK brand and see if that helps after you've replaced the MAF with a genuine sensor.

Reactions: Scorpio13

·
Registered
5 Posts