Hyundai Tiburon Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to hyundai and tiburons and am looking for some general information on them. My Girlfriend really wants one, and is looking at 2003-2005 w/ 50k+ miles. Basically shes trying to keep them in the $7500 range. What issues are common, things to check, etc before picking one up.

I.E. i see that the timing belts are done between 60-75k miles. Are they easy to do? or should I have a shop do them? My toyota requires dropping the engine out to do the TB, hence why I ask

She liked the interior of an 06 GT, but that was out of her price range, She wont have any preference between 4 or 6 cylinder. The 4 would probably be better for gas mileage, and she is more about comfort, MPG, looks, than speed.

Personally, I have always been a fan of their looks, but actually sat inside one {2006 GT} last night and I was quite impressed with the interior. The G/F loved it... I have owned a 2006 WRX with a full exhaust, tune, and mild suspension mods, and currently own a 2008 wrx hatch/wagon... I also own a 92 MR2-turbo as a project car for me to learn on..

Thanks! and hopefully we can find her a good one in her price range!

·
Registered
560 Posts
They are nice cars but if your looking for something around 7,000 I would suggest maybe a civic or something along those lines. Also not sure if it was just the 02 model but I hear a lot of problems happened with the clutch and so forth. Look around and see whatever you suits you and ask us than!!!

·
Registered
690 Posts
Hi,in 2003 the standards have clutch issues, may have been related to the little spring, flow restrictor in the clutch master cyl...easy to remove..it slows down shifting/engaging of the clutch for a "smoother" shift. There is a DIY mod for this.

I have a 2003 GT, gotta get the V6...very good on gas compared to others out there in our class. They are not powerful machines...but capable cruisers, and look good doin' it.