Hyundai Tiburon Forums banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the modding and to the Tiburon. I have a 2003 GT V6 6-Speed w/ AEM CAI and NGM Intake Manifold. Now, I have searched and I could not find any answers. When I start out and I try and shift, there is a delay in the RPM's dropping. For example, say I am going, and I want to shift from 2nd to 3rd, I let off the gas, push in the clutch, the rps rise about 200 then go down. Anyone know the reason or heard anything about this ? I'm sorry if it is hard to understand. Thank you in advance!

·
Registered
1,533 Posts
adjust your throttle cables. I installed stg4 today, u got to adjust them a little bit

·
How do you change this?
1,883 Posts
mine does it and I dont have a stage IV...just a ported IM

I dont think the cable would make it do that.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I tried that, but, it still happens. I made it tighter and also installed another spring on it to make the throttle totally close off but nothing. Any other ideas because I think I tried just about everything.

·
How do you change this?
1,883 Posts
I think I may be going out on a limb here and am prolly wrong but I think maybe since you have increased air flow from mods maybe the MAF sensor is directing a little more fuel than its supposed to so when you let off that extra fuel raises the engine speed up a little. I think that a good tune would prolly cancel that out. I think its more electronic than mechanical...

Mine does this as well and when I tune with a SAFC2 maybe I can eliminate it...

·
Registered
1,266 Posts
It's because Tiburons have a heavy stock flywheel. The momentum that thing haves when it is spinning at a few thousand RPM's keeps it spinng when you push the clutch in. You're taking the load off of it when you engage the clutch, and that momentum lets it freewheel the engine up for a second, before it loses that momentum.

·
Registered
1,037 Posts