Hyundai Tiburon Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time working on taking the motor out of the car but I want to keep my tranny in I don't want it out just the engine is there a way I can just take out the engine or does the tranny have to come to

·
Registered
364 Posts
This is my first time working on taking the motor out of the car but I want to keep my tranny in I don't want it out just the engine is there a way I can just take out the engine or does the tranny have to come to
If it's a manual tiburon then the trans has to come with it you won't be able to get it out otherwise and it's not much harder to pull the trans

·
Registered
795 Posts
Given that the transmission is largely supported by the engine, I would think you'd have to pull it out with the engine. w/o the engine, it has a grand total of one mount holding it in place, so you'd need to make some kind of support for when the engine is removed.

I'd just remove the tranny with the engine, it's not much more work to pull the axles & shifter cables.

·
Registered
364 Posts
Given that the transmission is largely supported by the engine, I would think you'd have to pull it out with the engine. w/o the engine, it has a grand total of one mount holding it in place, so you'd need to make some kind of support for when the engine is removed.

I'd just remove the tranny with the engine, it's not much more work to pull the axles & shifter cables.
Actually the engine only has 1 mount to it the transmission has 3 mounts on it

·
Registered
795 Posts
Actually the engine only has 1 mount to it the transmission has 3 mounts on it
I literally just pulled my engine out of my tib, and I know for a fact the engine has 3 mounts and the transmission has 1. This goes for 03+ 2.0 & 2.7 models.

·
Registered
364 Posts