Hyundai Tiburon Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
yeah i heard with the cold air intakes that water can get in them easily and F up your car... but then my friend told me to get a part that will stop that from happenin.. can someone tell me what it is i forgot hah thanks

·
Registered
1,577 Posts
hyundai084 said:
yeah i heard with the cold air intakes that water can get in them easily and F up your car... but then my friend told me to get a part that will stop that from happenin.. can someone tell me what it is i forgot hah thanks
Yes, you can Hyrdolock with a CAI...but unless you drive through a huge puddle, its unlikely. Dont remember that part you're talking about either, so someone else can help you with that.

·
Banned
3,074 Posts
Yeah it's a bypass valve...........but it's also restrictive , any gain you got will be reduced, so if ya dont plan on using your car as a submarine you shouldnt need one , I've been driving mine for 3 yrs no probs

·
Registered
219 Posts
They sell those water proof fabric that goes around your filter. air goes through but water gets repelled. I never used it but wonder if anyone else has. i'll find the link to it.
edit::
i'm having hard time looking for a good link. I think they are called "pre filters"

·
Registered
392 Posts
Injen makes 'em, and from what ive heard, theyre good. Ive also heard of a product that you just dip your filter in it, and it coats it down in a waterproof cover... dont know much about it, but quite frankly, i wouldnt trust it.

the Pre- or Over-filters are a pretty good buy, but you will lose a couple HP. You can pick em up here:
http://www.ptuning.com/html/search-...&cmbMakeModel=model&cmbBrand=inj&cmbYear=2003

·
Registered
128 Posts
in car washes.. if they undercarrage wash your car, will the engine hydrolock due to the strong pressure of water washing your undercarrage?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·