Hyundai Tiburon Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So new here first time posting of any kind. So I'll try make this brief and simple I'm self taught so don't know all the terms or names of all parts. So be understanding . Here goes I have 2003 tib 2.7 l V6 6m/t with almost 300,000 miles so I had replaced valve cover gasket s and spark plug tube seal s after doing so I blew spark tube seal by making dumb mistake didnt replace it again figured.it be alright leaked little oil but seem to run ok. Until one day sitting.waitimg for friend car idiling heard noice like something broke and belt started to squeal.didnt see any thing broke sounded like noise was p/s pump so check the fluid is low check the oil was low so I went put power steering fluid in Addison oil seem to seem to be running up all right with my brother's house ran out of gas got some gas put it in wouldn't start like wouldn't even turn over motor wouldn't turn so I thought it was seized got it towed home I'm a friend of mine found me a motor 3.5 Kia motor only 100,000 miles on it so let me look at the car a Little closer got the motor to turn over by hand check the timing belt was wasted. So I bought a new belt I'm still thinking about changing the motor to the bigger 3.5 motor add some horsepower and some torque but do isn't have ecu for 3.5 motor add o skeptical of my knowledge of what to try and incorporate into my Tiburon harness from the Kia harness to make it work or if it is even possible to use ecu from my 2.7 m/t engine with the 3.5 a/t with slap shift.? So been kind of hesitant. It's been couple weeks got engine / transaxle and subframe bout out of tib but can't find any info bout what I specifically need from Kia harness or if it will work and no ow I pressed for time started thinking just change ring belt now get it running again for now and continue to research if I can use that engine with my transmission and ecu.yiik off timing belt cover realize